at your small public library

2020 Grant Recipients:


Thorne Bay Public Library
Orange Beach Public Library
Parnell Memorial Library
Gravette Public Library
Nederland Community Library
Ledyard Public Library
Laurel Public Library
Fort Meade Public Library
Lake Park Public Library
Cherokee Public Library
Ericson Public Library
Lake City Public Library
Ruthven Public Library
Louis Latzer Memorial Public Library
Pike County Public Library
Baldwin City Library
Great Bend Public Library
Mary Cotton Public
Trimble County Public Library
Catahoula Parish Library
Caribou Public Library
Grand Ledge Area District Library
Hancock School Public Library
Drew Public Library
Horace Stansel Memorial Library



Lincoln County Library
Madison Valley Public Library
Monson Free Library and Reading Room Association
Davie County Public Library
Mott Public Library
Tioga Community Library
Otto Bruyns Public Library
Eden Library
Olean Public Library
Tivoli Free Library
Belle Center Free Public Library
Donald W Reynolds Community Library
Guthrie Public Library
Spiro Public Library
Athena Public Library
Estacada Public Library
Mary S. Biesecker Public Library
Worthington West Franklin Community Library
The Libraries of Foster
Lexington-Henderson County Everett Horn Public Library
Mildred G. Fields Memorial Library
Liberty Hill Public Library
Nesbitt Memorial Library
Grand County Public Library
James W. Curry Public Library


Apply to be a part of the IMLS grant “Code Club for Small & Rural Libraries.”

The Institute of Museum and Library Services is funding a grant to deliver all the resources necessary to run a code club in small and rural libraries. Those resources include one-on-one training sessions, code club software, Ozobot and Sphero robots, and ongoing coaching and support. 50 libraries will be selected to participate in this grant.

A code club is an informal program that takes place at a library where kids ages 8-18 learn computer programming skills. Teaching kids computer programming skills can dramatically impact your community by providing kids with 21st century career opportunities and instilling a valuable set of life skills, like computational thinking and problem solving.

With Prenda’s help, code club does not require any coding knowledge to run. It does, however, require:

  • Computers (laptops or desktops)
  • High-speed internet
  • A space in the library
  • Library staff/volunteer to facilitate

To be eligible for this grant you must qualify as a “small or rural library.”

  1. Small = any library with a service area of 15,000 or less
  2. Rural = any library more than 25 miles from an ‘urbanized area’ (as defined by the US Census)

This project is funded by the Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and is administered by the North Dakota State Library, in collaboration with Prenda. (IMLS Grant information)

Application due date is October 31, 2019. Recipient selections will be made by November 8th, 2019, with the expectation that your Code Club will begin in January 2020.

Read the press release >

DEADLINE: October 31, 2019

Informational Webinar

link to slides

Help youth build 21st century skills.

Grant funded = free to you!

No coding expertise necessary.

High engagement and attendance

Make a difference in the lives of young people in your community by introducing them to computer programming.

Watch the 2018/19 recorded informational webinar:

2018-2019 Grant Recipients:

  • Alpena County George N. Fletcher Public Library
  • Altus Public Library
  • Atlanta Public Library
  • C.E. Weldon Public Library
  • Carnegie Public Library
  • Cavalier County Library
  • Cherokee County Public Library
  • Coalinga Library
  • Colman Branch Library
  • Creve Couer Public Library
  • Driscoll Public Library
  • Exeter Branch Library
  • Garden Valley District Library
  • Hartland Public Library
  • Heart of America Library
  • Honey Grove Library & Learning Center
  • Hood County Library
  • Hoyt Lakes Public Library
  • Huachuca City Public Library
  • Hubbard Public Library
  • Hulbert Library of the Town of Concord
  • Jaffrey Public Library
  • Kaibab Paiute Tribal Library
  • Kensett Public Library
  • Keyport Free Public Library
  • Kittanning Public Library
  • Margaret R. Grundy Memorial Library
  • Marshall County Memorial Library
  • McIntosh Memorial Library
  • Memphis Public Libraries: Levi Branch
  • Milton Branch Library
  • Newtown Public Library
  • Oil City Library
  • Panama City Beach Public Library
  • Park River School and Public Library
  • Pine River Library
  • Priestley-Forsyth Memorial Library
  • Questa Public Library
  • River Grove Public Library District
  • Soldotna Public LIbrary
  • Spanish Fort Public Library
  • Stamford Carnegie Library
  • Syracuse Turkey Creek Township Public Library
  • Tehama County Library
  • The Dalles-Wasco County Library
  • Tulare County Library: Pixley Branch
  • Valley City Barnes County Public Library
  • Wasatch County Library
  • Whiteriver Public Library
  • Wilson Public Library
This program is made possible through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, administered by the North Dakota State Library in partnership with Prenda and the Association for Rural & Small Libraries.